Shakespeare Award Nominations 2017

19th Annual Shakespeare Awards for Excellence in Acting

Below are the nominations for MacGuffin’s annual awards ceremony on Saturday, January 13 at 7 PM at Penn Charter, Kurtz Center for the Performing Arts, 3000 W School House Ln, Philadelphia, PA 19144. Tickets are $20 for adults and $15 for students. Buy tickets HERE. Everyone is invited to attend. It is a formal event with ladies in evening dresses and men in suits. There will be video presentations from the productions of 2017 and live performances from our troupes. We will also premiere the preview of our new full length movie, More Than Anything. Our alumni and staff will present the awards. A dessert reception will follow.


Best Cameo
Nat Buskirk – More Than Anything MOVIE
Meredith Drasnin – As You Like It
Lena Jih-Cook – Honk!
Mira LeVine – As You Like It

Best Character Development
Mira LeVine – High School Musical
Isabella Martorano – More Than Anything MOVIE
Max Mester – Little Shop of Horrors
Leonor Pheulpin – Honk!

Best Comedic Performance
Rachel Burnett – As You Like It
Jakob Kleeman – Little Shop of Horrors
Maxon Raphael – As You Like It
Charles Watson – More Than Anything MOVIE

Meryl Streep Acting Award – New Award 2017
Sophie Borgenicht
Lily Cohen
Elena Eisenstadt
Max Mester

Best Comedy Improv Performance
Brenden Dahl
Jake Karwoski
Henry McCullough
Nate Nagvajara

Best Cabaret Performance
Isabel Ginsberg
Jakob Kleeman
Ava Lazin
Molly McQuoid

Rising Star Award
Sophia Johnson
Lucy Shaw
Jaiden Shuchman
Niamh Williams

Best Supporting Performance in a Play
Rachel Burnett – As You Like It
Lily Cohen – As You Like It
Isabel Ginsberg – As You Like It
Gabriel Riccardi – As You Like It

Best Supporting Performance in a Musical or Film
Brenden Dahl, Elah Perelman, Cella Reser –  Little Shop of Horrors
Olivia McKenna – Honk!
Molly McQuoid – Little Shop of Horrors
Rosie Taranta – More Than Anything MOVIE

The Hitchcock Award for Youth Leadership
Evie Flander
Leonor Pheulpin
Roya Reese
Scarlett Schneider

Best Emerging Performer
This award honors a youth and a teen who show great promise in acting

Best Performance in a Play – 2 winners
Nell Amari – As You Like It
Mariana Leone – As You Like It
Max Mester – As You Like It
Kayla Warren – As You Like It

Best Performance in a Musical or Film – 2 winners
Evie Flander – Honk!
Jakob Kleeman – Little Shop of Horrors
Isabella Martorano – More Than Anything MOVIE
Max Mester – More Than Anything MOVIE
Isabella Salvi – High School Musical

Senior Recognition and Farewell
Rachel Bershad, Isabel Ginsberg, Mariana Leone, Brielle Lewis, Dylan Lewis, Allie Lipshutz, Nate Nagvajara, Clara Pritchett, and Anneke Vonk

The MacGuffin Award for Lifetime Achievement

Best Ensemble
Wendy’s Story
As You Like It
High School Musical
Little Shop of Horrors
The Witches
Harry Potter and the Cursed Child: Part One
More Than Anything MOVIE